How Will You Be Remembered?

     This week I will be attending the funeral of a well-loved Pastor, Pastor Bob Hoekstra. I met this pastor in Murrieta and attended a Bible College course he offered. What I remember most about Pastor Bob…he glowed, no I mean it, he truly glowed with the love of Jesus! The encouragement I received from this man in my faith was priceless and I will be forever grateful for that experience and look forward to seeing him again in eternity!

     I guess the reason I am writing this today is due to the fact that I have just learned that our pastor, Pastor Chuck Smith, has been diagnosed with lung cancer and this has me thinking about the life that I am leading here. Pastor Chuck will be remembered by the many lives he has reached with the truth of the gospel and the fact that he has trusted God through so many difficult circumstances. He is an amazing pastor and never backs down from sharing the truth of God’s Word and His love for each of us. He will leave a legacy of a life lived with purpose and faith!

     What about my life? What will I be remembered for? Will I be remembered for every mistake I have made? There have been many! Or will I be remembered for something greater, something beyond myself? I would love to be remembered as a great mom, who loves her children with all of her heart or an amazing wife who loves her husband deeply. All women of faith would like to be thought of as the Proverbs 31 woman. All of those are amazing attributes but my greatest desire is to live a life of faith that is known not only by what I say but how I live my life! Jesus said, “By this all will know that you are My disciples, if you have love for one another.” John 13:35

        I pray that each of us will take to heart the type of legacy we will leave when we enter into eternity. As Paul said, “I beseech you therefore, brethren, by the mercies of God, that you present your bodies a living sacrifice, holy, acceptable to God which is your reasonable service. And do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind, that you may prove what is that good and acceptable and perfect will of God.” Romans 12:1-2

       Live each day as if it might be your last, for no one is promised tomorrow.

With heart,

Donna

One thought on “How Will You Be Remembered?

  1. Kathleen Manly says:

    Donna,
    I’m sorry to hear about your loss, though we believe there is life after our passing here. Thank you Jesus for your sacrifice, so that we may have eternal life.
    Thank you for posting your blog. Your words are kind and encouraging with the Word of God. They also are a reminder as to why we are here: may I decrease and my Lord increase.

    God bless you, Donna

Leave a Reply

